Welcome to Vegas Boards!

The only Las Vegas Message Board and forum built by enthusiasts for enthusiasts.
Join today for free!

Windows 10?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Joe, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. Joe

    Joe
    Expand Collapse
    Used to live in Vegas
    Founder's Club Silver Linker

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Trips to Vegas:
    200
    Anybody have any thoughts about Win10? I'm quite happy with Win7 on my desktop, but I read unless you disable automatic updates, one morning you might wake to find Win10 was automatically installed.

    Just looking for opinions on Win10. Should I?

    Thx.
     
  2. shifter

    shifter
    Expand Collapse
    Degenerate Gambler
    The Chairman

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    3,032
    Location:
    At The Tables
    Trips to Vegas:
    50
    if you have 7, probably.

    if you have 8, no need.

    I have 10 on both of my laptops and had no issues.
     
  3. undathesea

    undathesea
    Expand Collapse
    Elitist & Least Tits
    Founder's Club Master Linker

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    926
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Trips to Vegas:
    24
    It's pretty much built for touchscreen computers.

    It still works well without, but it's touchscreen friendly. If you don't have a touchscreen, I don't think you'll be missing much by sticking with windows 7. You may eventually run into driver issues though.

    At least that's my take.
     
  4. Joe

    Joe
    Expand Collapse
    Used to live in Vegas
    Founder's Club Silver Linker

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Trips to Vegas:
    200
    No touchscreen. Just a desktop box.
     
  5. wigwam_timeshares

    wigwam_timeshares
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Member
    Founder's Club

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    179
    All our company desktops have Windows 10. I think undathesea is a bit confused with Windows 8. Although you can make that behave well on non-touchscreen devices as well with a bit of tenacity and a lot of cursing.
     
  6. Tibs

    Tibs
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trips to Vegas:
    17
    Go for it. 8 was ugh. 8.1 was a little better. 10 is what should have been the logical progression. I use 8.1 and 10 at work on a surface pro and now that on 10 it feels right. And I rarely use the touch features. It's my daily driver now.
     
  7. JoJo

    JoJo
    Expand Collapse
    VB Bro
    Founder's Club

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    CT
    Trips to Vegas:
    14
    I use it at work both on a Surface Pro and a VM on my Mac, works great, really stable.
     
  8. bayoubengal

    bayoubengal
    Expand Collapse
    Member
    Founder's Club

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    688
    Windows 8 drives me crazy. Doesn't feel intuitive at all but alas my current project requires the development environment to be win 8.
     
  9. wigwam_timeshares

    wigwam_timeshares
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Member
    Founder's Club

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    179
    You can download a Windows classic start menu for it. Can't remember what it's called but it's on Google.
     
  10. 44inarow

    44inarow
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trips to Vegas:
    23
    I like it better than Windows 8 in terms of usability, and having a real Start menu back is great. But, it doesn't play nice with all graphics cards. I have an Alienware gaming rig, and Windows 10 is fairly stable... unless I'm trying to play games, which results in a crash about once a week. It's totally fine when doing any sort of real work, but when I start to push my graphics card, Windows 10 seems to freak out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...