Welcome to Vegas Boards!

The only Las Vegas Message Board and forum built by enthusiasts for enthusiasts.
Join today for free!

New York City - Memorial Day Weekend

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Aaronw915, May 21, 2016.

1. Aaronw915

Aaronw915
    Expand Collapse
    Founder's Club

Trips to Vegas:
    Wife and I are flying out next Friday and heading to the city for Memorial Day weekend. Will probably do a few touristy things but not that many. We like getting off the beaten path and away from the tourist crowds. Staying in Manhattan near Penn Station and will be using as much subway, LIRR, and other public transit available and looking forward to venturing out.

This is my first time there while she's been there 4 or 5 times but mainly for weddings. Will be definitely going to Brooklyn to visit some of her family.

Chelsea Market, Battery/Central Park, and World Trade Center Memorial are definite on our list but other than that we are playing it by ear. Was hoping there would be some locals on here, ex locals, or even people who travel there a lot that could give some recommendations on where to go for great food including pi z z a, Mexican, and Italian as well as any other cool off the beaten path places that NYC has to offer that often go over looked.

2. SDSteve

SDSteve
    Expand Collapse
    Founder's Club

I know beer... Pony Bar in Hell's Kitchen on 10th, there is a pizza place next door called Kiabacca that has the same owners and a great beer selection too, Blind Tiger on Bleeker, Gingerman in midtown. I know a few good restaurants, but there are tons of great places. Italian, stay downtown, little Italy. Mexican not so much. The Highline park is cool. Hoboken, NJ is pretty fun to go out. You can take the Path train from Penn I think to get there. Haven't spent much time in Brooklyn, but I hear there are some great places...

3. Jason

Jason
    Expand Collapse